Explore Our History


The history of Ngee Ann Polytechnic (NP) could be traced back to 1963, when it started out as Ngee Ann College. Its founder, The Ngee Ann Kongsi, had envisioned setting up a quality educational institution to link the Chinese-speaking community to its cultural roots during the colonial-rule era. The College had since morphed into a full-fledged polytechnic, a public institution overseen by an independent Council.

Five decades on, the Polytechnic has become a leading institution of higher learning, anchored on its core strengths of pioneering a broad-based and holistic learning approach, forging strategic alliances and providing enriching overseas experiences to prepare its students for a global workplace. The transformation of Ngee Ann Polytechnic has been a spectacular one, as evident in the key milestones recorded here.


Founding Years


Changing Focus


Renamed to Polytechnic


Pioneered e-Learning


Rapid Growth

Academic Schools

The year when they were set up

  • School of Business & Accountancy Established 1963
  • School of Engineering Established 1969
  • School of InfoComm Technology Established 1982
  • School of Film & Media Studies Established 1989
  • School of Life Sciences & Chemical Technology Established 1989
  • School of Interdisciplinary Studies Established 2001
  • School of Health Sciences Established 2005
  • School of Humanities & Social Sciences Established 2005
  • School of Design & Environment Established 2012

Leadership Over the Years​

Our Council Chairpersons

image can't display 

Prof Kee Choo Chong

Chairman (1968 – 1983)

image can't display 

Dr Hiew Siew Nam

Chairman (1983 – 1995)

image can't display 

Mr Choo Chiau Beng

Chairman (1995 – 2003)

image can't display 

Mr Tan Hup Foi

Chairman (2004 – 2011)

image can't display 

Mr Tang Kin Fei

Chairman (2011 – Present)

Our Princip​als

image can't display 

Prof Liu Yin Soon

Principal (1963 – 1970)

image can't display 

Dr Lee Chiaw Meng

Principal (1970 – 1975)

image can't display 

Mr Khong Kit Soon

Principal (1975 – 1982)

image can't display 

Mr Chen Hung

Principal (1983 – 1989)

image can't display 

Dr Tan Gee Paw

Principal (1989 – 1995)

image can't display 

Mr Khoo Chin Hean

Principal (1995 – 2000)

image can't display 

Mr Chia Mia Chiang

Principal (2000 – 2014)

image can't display 

Mr Clarence Ti Boon Wee

Principal (2014 – Present)